Materials

The sign will not be erased. The fate of Ostarbeiters in letters, memoirs and oral stories

Book

Author International Memorial

During the Great Patriotic War, the heroes of the book, the very young people from cities and villages of Russia, Ukraine, Belarus, were driven into Nazi Germany, where they were called Ostarbeiters (Eastern workers). Interviews, letters, memoirs, and photographs stored in the Memorial archive tell us about what they experienced in captivity and what they had to experience after returning to their homeland. Published for the first time, these documentary evidences of human destinies make us take a fresh look at the pages of war that seemed famous.

Learn more

Forced labor in the Third Reich

Comic book

Author International Memorial

The comic book tells about three women whose fate was determined by violent theft and work in German labor camps during the Second World War. Gelena is a Czech Jew from Volhynia who fled from the labor camp and joined the partisans. Yarmila volunteered to work in Germany to save herself from the Gestapo persecution. Francis was born to a Polish mother and a Czech father, who met and fell in love while working at a German arms factory.

Learn more

Eastern worker

Video

Author International Memorial

The cartoon was realized by students and schoolchildren during the cartoon practice of the Memorial. It is based on an archive collection on the history of forced labor in Nazi Germany, published on the websites tastorona.su and fond21.memo.ru

Learn more

Video interview of the former concentration camp prisoners

Video

Author Leonid Levin History Workshop

Former prisoners of the ghetto and concentration camps share their memories of the spring of 1945 in their lives. Witnesses of military events tell stories of mutual assistance and solidarity among prisoners from different countries and the hope for a better future in connection with the end of the war.


Learn more

7 stories of awarded war witnesses

Multimedia storytelling

Author Leonid Levin History Workshop

We have gathered the stories of Nazi crimes witnesses awarded on 4 March, 2020 with the Order "For the Services to the Federal Republic of Germany". For many years they have been actively involved in the educational work of Leonid Levin History Workshop and Johannes Rau Minsk International Educational Center (IBB Minsk).


Learn more

Instagram "My Memory WW2"

Video

Author Alina Lebedeva (Russia)

Each family’s unique story of World War II. A look at the family history helps to return the optics aimed at a small person in the context of landmark events, their individual pain, tragedy, and the difficulty of choice that they have to make. In September 2019, a series of interviews were conducted and an Instagram channel with videos was launched. Record your story and post it on Instagram with hashtags #ww2mm, #mm2ww

Join us!
https://www.instagram.com/mymemory2ww/
fb.me/mymemory2ww
https://vk.com/mm2ww

The channel was created within the "Teaching History 4.0" project supported by the German Federal Foreign Ministry.

Learn more

THE EFFECT

Multimedia storytelling

Author Olga Grytsuk (Minsk) & Svetlana Pakhomova (Moscow)

A multimedia art project for interacting with the viewer through textual, audio and visual materials. The core of the project and the main dramatic element lies at the three photographs and a small piece of handwritten paper that resembles either a prayer or a conspiracy with an emotional plea that the war does not happen again. Photos and a leaflet were found by VEHA initiative in 2019 in one of the endangered villages of Belarus - in an old dilapidated house under floorboards. These materials have not been used or published anywhere before.

"The note would have seemed absolute nonsense to us if it had not been so over-emotional and accurate in dates. Our search for at least any information about the ladies in the photographs and a small note resulted in an honest conversation about the difficult period of the 1940s, traumas and the impact of the past "- write the authors Olga Grytsuk and Svetlana Pakhomova.

The material was created within the "Teaching History 4.0" project supported by the German Federal Foreign Ministry.

Learn more

ABOUT HISTORY

Brochure

Author Johannes Rau Minsk International Education Centre (IBB Minsk)

A collection of the best publications prepared by Belarusian and Ukrainian journalists within the IBB Minsk School of Journalism “Memory Culture and Historical Policy” course held in 2019. The coursebook unfolds the traumatic pages of the twentieth century history, personal tragedies, fates of witnesses and participants of those events. It also shows the connection between the past and the present, as well as attempts at mutual reconciliation and awareness of the common history in Belarus, Ukraine and Germany.

Project documentation "Memory of WW2 in museums and memorial sites of Ukraine and Russia"

Documentation

Author Viktoriya Naumenko (Ukraine) & Dmitry Astashkin (Russia)

Each country builds its memory of the past in accordance with its national myths, ideals and political needs. To this day the theme of WW2 in Ukraine and Russia remains at the center of public discussions and a watershed in historical memory, splitting citizens of both countries politically, ideologically and mentally. The majority of museums and memorials reflect the dominant rhetoric of each country's memory policy, which does not contribute to the establishment of a productive intercultural dialogue and leads to “memory wars”. The Russian-Ukrainian war, started in 2014, led to exacerbation of negative trends in memory culture and intensifies the confrontation between the people of the countries.

The project objective was to establish a dialogue between humanitarian students of two countries to familiarize them with competing narratives about the WW2 memory and to determine the starting points that facilitate their rapprochement. Humanities students visited memory sites in Veliky Novgorod, Lviv, Dnieper, Zhydachiv, recorded nine short videos and commented on those, which were subsequently discussed at the "Culture of WW2 memory" seminars. The idea for the seminar was developed as part of the "Teaching History 4.0" project supported by the the German Federal Foreign Ministry.




Learn more

Filter

Материалы

Знак не сотрется. Судьбы остарбайтеров в письмах, воспоминаниях и устных рассказах

Книга

Автор Международный Мемориал

В годы Великой Отечественной войны герои книги, тогда ещё очень молодые люди из городов и сел России, Украины, Белоруссии, были угнаны в гитлеровскую Германию, где их назвали остарбайтерами (восточными рабочими). О том, что они пережили в неволе и что им пришлось испытать после возвращения на родину, рассказывают сохраненные в архиве «Мемориала» интервью, письма, воспоминания, фотоснимки. Опубликованные впервые, эти документальные свидетельства человеческих судеб заставляют по-новому взглянуть на казавшиеся известными страницы войны.

Узнать больше

Принудительный труд в Третьем рейхе

Комикс

Автор Международный Мемориал

Комикс рассказывает о трех женщинах, судьбу которых определили насильственный угон и работа в германских трудовых лагерях в годы Второй мировой войны. Гелена - чешская еврейка с Волыни, бежавшая из трудового лагеря и примкнувшая к партизанам. Ярмила добровольно записалась на работы в Германии, чтобы спастись от преследования гестапо. Франциска родилась у матери-польки и отца-чеха, которые познакомились и полюбили друг друга во время работы на немецком оружейном заводе.

Узнать больше

Восточный рабочий

Видео

Автор Международный Мемориал

Мультфильм был выполнен студентами и школьниками во время мульт-практики Мемориала. В его основе - архивная коллекция по истории принудительного труда в нацистской Германии, опубликованная на сайтах tastorona.su и fond21.memo.ru

Узнать больше

Видео - интервью бывших узников концлагерей

Видео

Автор Историческая Мастерская имени Леонида Левина

Бывшие узники гетто и концлагерей делятся воспоминаниями о весне 1945 года в их жизни. Свидетели военных событий рассказывают истории о взаимопомощи и солидарности среди узников из разных стран и надежде на лучшее будущее в связи с окончанием войны.

Узнать больше

7 историй награжденных свидетелей войны

Мультимедийный сторителлинг

Автор Историческая Мастерская имени Леонида Левина

Мы собрали для вас истории свидетелей нацистских преступлений, награжденных 4 марта 2020 года орденом "За заслуги перед Федеративной Республикой Германия". В течение многих лет они активно участвуют в образовательной работе Исторической мастерской и Минского международного образовательного центра имени Йоханнеса Рау (IBB Minsk),

Узнать больше

Instagram "My Memory WW2"

Видео

Автор Алина Лебедева (Россия)

Уникальная история каждой семьи о Второй мировой войне. Взгляд на историю семьи помогает вернуть оптику, направленную на маленького человека в контексте эпохальных событий, его индивидуальную боль, трагедию, трудность выбора, с которыми приходится сталкиваться. В сентябре 2019 г. был проведен ряд интервью и запущен инстаграм-канал с видеороликами. Запишите свой рассказ и выложите в сети с хэштегами #ww2mm, #mm2ww

Присоединяйтесь!
https://www.instagram.com/mymemory2ww/
fb.me/mymemory2ww
https://vk.com/mm2ww

Канал создан в рамках проекта "Образовательная работа по истории 4.0», реализуемого при финансовой поддержке МИД Германии.

Узнать больше

ПОСЛЕДСТВИЯ

Мультимедийный сторителлинг

Автор Ольга Грицук (Минск), Светлана Пахомова (Москва)

Мультимедийный арт-проект для взаимодействия со зрителем через текстовые, аудио и фотоматериалы. Ядром проекта и главным драматическим элементом стали три фотографии и небольшой листок с рукописным текстом, который напоминает то ли молитву, то ли заговор, с эмоциональной просьбой о том, чтобы война не повторилась. Фотографии и листок были найдены инициативой VEHA в 2019 г. в одной из вымирающих деревень Беларуси - в старом обветшалом доме под половицами. Эти материалы ранее нигде не использовались и не публиковались.

"Записка показалась бы нам абсолютной бессмыслицей, если бы не была такой сверхэмоциональной и точной в датах. Итогом нашего поиска хоть какой-либо информации о девушках на фотографиях и о небольшой записке стал честный разговор о тяжелом периоде 1940-х годов, травмах и о влиянии прошлого" - пишут авторы Ольга Грицук и Светлана Пахомова.

Материал создан в рамках проекта "Образовательная работа по истории 4.0», реализуемого при финансовой поддержке МИД Германии.

Узнать больше

ABOUT HISTORY

Брошюра

Автор Минский международный образовательный центр им. Йоханнеса Рау (IBB Minsk)

Сборник лучших публикаций участников курса Школы журналистики IBB Minsk «Культура памяти и историческая политика» 2019 года, в котором приняли участие белорусские и украинские журналисты. Сборник рассказывает о травматических страницах истории ХХ века, личных трагедиях и судьбах свидетелей и участников этих событий, о связи прошлого и настоящего, и попытке взаимного примирения и осознания общей истории в Беларуси, Украине и Германии.

Документация проекта «Память о Второй мировой войне в музеях и мемориальных комплексах Украины и России»

Документация

Автор Виктория Науменко (Украина), Дмитрий Асташкин (Россия)

Каждая страна выстраивает свою память о прошлом в соответствии с ее национальными мифами, идеалами и политическими потребностями. Тема Второй мировой войны в Украине и России до сегодняшнего дня пребывает в центре общественных дискуссий и остается водоразделом в исторической памяти, раскалывающим жителей обеих стран политически, идеологически и ментально. Музеи и мемориалы в большинстве отражают доминирующее направление политики памяти в каждой стране, что не способствует налаживанию продуктивного межкультурного диалога и ведет к «войнам памяти». Российско-украинская война, начавшаяся в 2014 году, привела к обострению негативных тенденций в сфере культуры памяти и усиливает конфронтацию между жителями стран.

Задачей проекта стало наладить диалог между студентами-гуманитариями двух стран для их ознакомления с конкурирующими представлениями памяти о Второй мировой войне и определения отправных точек, содействующих их сближению. Студенты гуманитарных факультетов посетили места памяти в Великом Новгороде, Львове, Днепре, Жидачиве и сняли девять коротких видео с комментариями, которые впоследствии обсуждали на семинарах "Культура памяти о Второй мировой войне". Идея семинара разработана в рамках проекта "Образовательная работа по истории 4.0», реализуемого при финансовой поддержке МИД Германии.

Узнать больше

Фильтр